Pick Me Ups

A friendly picker upper for the perfect stranger.

That’s how long I want to be your friend April 20, 2010

Filed under: Cards — neepaparikh @ 1:41 pm
Tags: , , ,

Location: Thode rental laptop

Note:

Dear Perfect Stranger,

How are you today? I hope you’re doing well and if not, I hope this note serves as a little pick-me-up. When I was a Girl Guide, there was one song that we sang pretty much every week. It goes like this:

Make new friends, but keep the old
One is silver, and the other gold
A circle is round, it has no end
That’s how long I want to be your friend

At the time, I’m sure we sang it because it was a song easily done in a round but thinking about it now, the song has a lot of truth to it.

I think the point of that song is that friendships shouldn’t be formed with an end in sight. If you have an end to the friendship in mind, it’s rare that it will last any longer. I think this goes for a lot of endeavors that we take on. It’s best to keep an open mind about things so the results can be surprising.

Sincerely,

Your friendly picker upper 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

