Pick Me Ups

A friendly picker upper for the perfect stranger.

Ukulele April 24, 2010

Filed under: Cards — neepaparikh @ 9:55 pm
Tags: , , ,

Location: Front lobby at West Village

Note:

Dear Perfect Stranger,

How are you today? I hope you’re doing well and if not, I hope this note serves as a little pick-me-up.

There’s something about the ukulele that just makes me happy. Perhaps its the fact that they remind me of the tropics and all the wonderful things that come along with a vacation. The weird thing is, I’ve never been to Hawaii nor have I ever heard a ukulele being played live. It’s just a beautiful sound.

Did you know that the word “ukulele” roughly translates to “jumping flea”? Well now you know. Another translation of “ukulele” is “gift that came here” from the Hawaiian words uku (gift/reward) and lele (to come). I think both definitions of the word are pretty awesome.

If you haven’t really heard any songs featuring a ukulele, I suggest you look up ukulele on youtube. If you don’t find anything you really like there, try listening to Hey, Soul Sister by Train. That always makes me happy and I hope it will make you happy too.

Sincerely,

Your friendly picker upper 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

