Pick Me Ups

A friendly picker upper for the perfect stranger.

Expiration Dates May 26, 2010

Filed under: Cards — neepaparikh @ 2:01 am
Tags: , ,

Location: Beaches boardwalk

Note:

Dear Perfect Stranger,

How are doing today? I hope that you are doing well and if not, I hope this note serves as a little pick-me-up during your day.

I know that this note won’t show the nicest side of me, but it will be honest. I can talk to a person every single day for weeks or months on end, maybe even years and never talk to them again. There are many possible reasons for this. Maybe we had a fight. Maybe we moved away from each other. Maybe we just drifted apart. Whatever the reason, both of us must not care enough to make an extra effort to continue the friendship. It happens. It’s  normal.

Maybe I just needed to have that person in my life to help me through a certain phase. Whenever that phase is over, for whatever reason, so is the friendship. They don’t move on with me to the next phase in life. Their contributions don’t transfer over. They don’t change cities with me. They just don’t change because I do. I don’t enter into these friendships anticipating expiration dates, I just know that one might exist.

Sincerely,

Your friendly picker upper

 

One Response to “Expiration Dates”

  1. Josiah Says:

    I like this one too!

    I’m glad you acknowledge that not all friendships last forever. It’s so much better than always having everything sugar coated.


Leave a Reply

