Pick Me Ups

A friendly picker upper for the perfect stranger.

Self-Discovery June 6, 2010

Filed under: Cards,Quotes — neepaparikh @ 10:16 pm
Tags: , ,

Location: Toronto Zoo

Note:

Dear Perfect Stranger,

How are you today? I hope that you are doing well and if not, I hope this note serves as a little pick-me-up during your day.

I’m not sure if I feel happy or sad for people who think they’ve got it all figured out. I mean people who think they know themselves perfectly. People who feel as if they know exactly what they want out of life and the steps they must take to get there. I feel like that makes life boring. To me, it’s almost as if life’s journey is a journey about self-discovery. Getting to know yourself and the world around you. That should be the goal. Maybe you’ll never get to know yourself completely because we humans are so complex, but an attempt should be made. Mistakes and obstacles are all part of the journey that to me makes life so worthwhile.

It seems that Italian actress Sophia Loren had a similar view of life. She said, “After all these years, I am still involved in the process of self-discovery. It’s better to explore life and make mistakes than to play it safe. Mistakes are part of the dues one pays for a full life.” Have a good day.

Sincerely,

Your friendly picker upper šŸ™‚

 

2 Responses to “Self-Discovery”

  1. Dedicated follower Says:

    This reminds me of a book I read called Soul Cravings. On the back it clearly states, “The search of your life is the search for your life.” Although the book talks a lot about finding the meaning of life and the presence of God, I think the quote is fitting for your entry. We are all searching for something and at the end of the day, its a greater understanding of ourselves.

    If you get a chance, read the book. It’s by Erwin Raphael McManus.

  2. Self Discoverer Says:

    I like this one. Our likes and dislikes are ever changing so its nice to thing that by continuing on in the journey we call life, we are working towards discovering more about ourselves.


Leave a Reply

